West Indies wins toss, elects to field in 1st ODI

BY foxsports • September 30, 2016

SHARJAH, United Arab Emirates (AP) West Indies captain Jason Holder won the toss and opted to field against Pakistan in the first one-day international on Friday.

The West Indies awarded an ODI debut to 23-year-old opening batsman Kraigg Brathwaite and also included experienced spinners Sunil Narine and Sulieman Benn.

Pakistan routed the world champion West Indies 3-0 in the preceding Twenty20 series and also went in with left-arm spinners Imad Wasim and Mohammad Nawaz, who played key part in the T20 series.

Pakistan is No. 9 in the ODI rankings, a spot behind the West Indies. Only the top seven teams directly qualify for the 2019 World Cup.



Pakistan: Azhar Ali (captain), Sharjeel Khan, Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali.

West Indies: Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Johnson Charles, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin, Kieron Pollard, Carlos Brathwaite, Sunil Narine, Sulieman Benn, Shannon Gabriel.

share story