Vikings' Peterson, Walsh AP first-teamers

Vikings' Peterson, Walsh AP first-teamers

Published Jan. 12, 2013 10:40 a.m. ET

Two Minnesota Vikings were first-team selections on the 2012 AP All-Pro squad released Saturday, as both tailback Adrian Peterson and kicker Blair Walsh were honored by media members.

Vikings linebacker Chad Greenway and fullback Jerome Felton made the AP's second team.

Peterson led the Vikings to a 10-6 regular-season record and a surprise playoff berth by amassing 2,097 rushing yards less than a year after major knee surgery. He also had 40 receptions and 13 total touchdowns. Peterson and Houston defensive lineman J.J. Watt were the only two unanimous selections among AP first-team honorees.

Walsh, a rookie out of Georgia, connected on 35 field goals in 38 attempts. He also made all 10 of his 50-plus-yard field-goal attempts.

Greenway racked up 148 tackles for Minnesota's improved defense in 2012, to go along with 3.0 sacks and one interception. Felton earned acclaim for often clearing the way for long runs by Peterson, who rushed for the second-highest single-season yardage total in NFL history.

The AP All-Pro teams are selected annually by a national panel of 50 media members. The full teams are listed below.



Quarterback--Peyton Manning, Denver

Running Backs--Adrian Peterson, Minnesota; Marshawn Lynch, Seattle

Fullback--Vonta Leach, Baltimore

Tight End--Tony Gonzalez, Atlanta

Wide Receivers--Calvin Johnson, Detroit; Brandon Marshall, Chicago

Tackles--Duane Brown, Houston; Ryan Clady, Denver

Guards--Mike Iupati, San Francisco; Jahri Evans, New Orleans

Center--Max Unger, Seattle

Placekicker--Blair Walsh, Minnesota

Kick Returner--Jacoby Jones, Baltimore


Ends--J.J. Watt, Houston; Cameron Wake, Miami

Tackles--Geno Atkins, Cincinnati; Vince Wilfork, New England

Outside Linebackers--Von Miller, Denver; Aldon Smith, San Francisco

Inside Linebacker--Patrick Willis, San Francisco; NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco

Cornerbacks--Richard Sherman, Seattle; Charles Tillman, Chicago

Safeties--Earl Thomas, Seattle; Dashon Goldson, San Francisco

Punter--Andy Lee, San Francisco



Quarterback--Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay

Running Backs--Alfred Morris Washington; Jamaal Charles, Kansas City

Fullback--Jerome Felton, Minnesota

Tight End--Jason Witten, Dallas

Wide Receivers--A.J. Green, Cincinnati; Andre Johnson, Houston

Tackles--Joe Thomas, Cleveland; Joe Staley, San Francisco

Guards--Marshal Yanda, Baltimore; Logan Mankins, New England

Center--Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh Placekicker--Phil Dawson, Cleveland

Kick Returner--David Wilson, New York Giants


Ends--Justin Smith, San Francisco; Julius Peppers, Chicago

Tackles--Justin Smith, San Francisco; Ndamukong Suh, Detroit, and Haloti Ngata, Baltimore

Outside Linebackers--Chad Greenway, Minnesota; Ahmad Brooks, San Francisco, Clay Matthews, Green Bay, and DeMarcus Ware, Dallas

Inside Linebackers--Daryl Washington, Arizona; London Fletcher, Washington

Cornerbacks--Champ Bailey, Denver; Tim Jennings, Chicago

Safeties--Eric Weddle, San Diego; Jairus Byrd, Buffalo

Punter--Thomas Morstead, New Orleans