Undefeated Nyquist morning-line favorite in Kentucky Derby

May 4, 2016

Post positions were drawn on Wednesday for Saturday's Kentucky Derby.

Undefeated Nyquist was tabbed the morning-line favorite after drawin post 13.

Santa Anita Derby winner Exagerrator was made the second choice from post 11.

1. Trojan Nation (40 points on Road to Kentucky Derby Leaderboard


Jockey: Drayden Van Dyke

Trainer: Patrick Gallagher

Morning  line:50-1

2. Suddenbreakingnews (50 points)

Jockey: Luis Quinonez

Trainer: Donnie Von Hemel

Morning line: 20-1

3. Creator (110 points)

Jockey: Ricardo Santana Jr.

Trainer: Steve Asmussen

Morning line 10-1

4. Mo Tom (32 points)

Jockey: Corey Lanerie

Trainer: Tom Amoss

Morning line: 20-1

5. Gun Runner (151 points)

Jockey: Florent Geroux

Trainer: Steve Asmussen

Morning line: 10-1

6. My Man Sam (40 points)

Jockey: Irad Ortiz Jr.

Trainer: Chad Brown

Morning line 20-1

7. Oscar Nominated (50 points)

Jockey: Julien Leparoux

Trainer: Mike Maker

Morning line: 50-1

8. Lani (100 points)

Jockey: Yutaka Take

Trainer: Mikio Matsunaga

Morning line: 30-1

9. Destin (51 points)

Jockey: Javier Castellano

Trainer: Todd Pletcher

Morning line: 15-1

10. Whitmore (44 points)

Jockey: Victor Espinoza

Trainer: Ron Moquett

Morning line: 20-1

11. Exaggerator (126 points)

Jockey: Kent Desormeaux

Trainer: Keith Desormeaux

Morning line: 8-1

12. Tom's Ready (44 points)

Jockey: Brian Hernandez Jr.

Trainer: Dallas Stewart

Morning line: 30-1

13. Nyquist (130 points)

Jockey: Mario Gutierrez

Trainer: Doug O'Neill

Morning line: 3-1

14. Mohaymen (80 points)

Jockey: Junior Alvarado

Trainer: Kiaran McLaughlin

Morning line: 10-1

15. Outwork (120 points)

Jockey: John Velazquez

Trainer: Todd Pletcher

Morning line: 15-1

16. Shagaf (50 points)

Jockey: Joel Rosario

Trainer: Chad Brown

Morning line: 20-1

17. Mor Spirit (84 points)

Jockey: Gary Stevens

Trainer: Bob Baffert

Morning line: 12-1

18. Majesto (40 points)

Jockey: Emisael Jaramillo

Trainer: Gustavo Delgado

Morning line: 30-1

19. Brody's Cause (114 points)

Jockey: Luis Saez

Trainer: Dale Romans

Morning line: 15-1

20. Danzing Candy (60 points)

Jockey: Mike Smith

Trainer: Clifford W. Sise Jr.

Morning line: 20-1

On the “also eligible” list:

Laoban (Cornelio Velasquez)

Cherry Wine (Robby Albarado).

The “also eligible” horses could draw into the field should any horse(s) be scratched before Friday’s scratch time at 9 a.m. ET.