South Africa bats 1st in final ODI vs. Bangladesh

October 22, 2017

EAST LONDON, South Africa (AP) South Africa won the toss and decided to bat first in the final one-day international on Sunday seeking a 3-0 series whitewash over Bangladesh.

With the series wrapped up, South Africa took the opportunity to rest Hashim Amla and JP Duminy, bringing in Temba Bavuma to open the batting and Aiden Markram for his debut. Allrounder Wiaan Mulder was also given a debut and a chance in place of Dwaine Pretorius.

Bangladesh made two changes as it seeks a first win on tour. Soumya Sarkar and Mehidy Hasan Miraz come in to replace Tamim Iqbal and Nasir Hossain. Batsman Iqbal has returned home because of injury.



South Africa: Faf du Plessis (captain), Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Aiden Markram, AB de Villiers, Farhaan Behardien, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Dane Paterson, Imran Tahir.

Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain.