Panthers' Campbell wins Lady Byng Trophy

Panthers' Campbell wins Lady Byng Trophy

Published Jun. 20, 2012 8:48 p.m. ET

LAS VEGAS (AP) -- Florida defenseman Brian Campbell has won the Lady Byng Trophy for sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct.

Campbell won the award Wednesday night at the NHL's annual postseason awards show.

Campbell played all 82 games and had only six penalty minutes for the Panthers. He has never recorded more than 35 penalty minutes in a season during his lengthy NHL career.

Campbell noted onstage that he's the first defenseman to win the award since Detroit's Red Kelly in 1954.

Tampa Bay's Martin St. Louis won the award for the past two years, and Detroit's Pavel Datsyuk won it four straight times before that.

Edmonton's Jordan Eberle and the New York Islanders' Matt Moulson also were finalists for the Lady Byng. All three were first-time nominees.