Pakistan bats first against Bangladesh at World T20

Pakistan bats first against Bangladesh at World T20

Updated Mar. 5, 2020 1:49 a.m. ET

KOLKATA, India (AP) Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi won the toss and elected to bat first against Bangladesh in a World Twenty20 Group 2 game on Wednesday.

Afridi said at the toss that his team's batting was a concern so he was going in with six batsmen and two allrounders.

Bangladesh was without left-arm seam bowler Mustafizur Rahman, who was recovering from a side strain.

Bangladesh has won the last two T20s between them, including in the recent Asia Cup where Bangladesh advanced to the final at the cost of Pakistan and Sri Lanka.




Pakistan: Ahmed Shehzad, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed, Shahid Afridi (captain), Imad Wasim, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Irfan.

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mohammad Mithun, Al-Amin Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Taskin Ahmed.