Ole Miss earns one vote to win SEC

BY foxsports • July 19, 2012

This is not a test.
One media member voted new coach Hugh Freeze and his Ole Miss Rebels to win the Southeastern Conference. Not to win ONE HALF in an SEC game. Not to win ONE GAME in the SEC. Not even to win the SEC West division.
Some media member -- no word has been released concerning the context of the vote (hoax or late-night at the hotel lobby bar) -- felt compelled by the team’s coaching change and the struggles from the likes of Alabama, LSU and Arkansas in recent seasons to vote Ole Miss as the preeminent team in the nation’s preeminent conference.
LSU led the league with the most votes to be the conference champion, followed by Alabama and Georgia, respectively.
With that, here’s the media’s predicted order of finish in 2012 (first-place votes in parentheses):

LSU (129)Alabama (65)Georgia (14)South Carolina (6)Arkansas (4)Auburn (2)Florida (1)Ole Miss (1)

Georgia (132)South Carolina (72)Florida (12)Missouri (2)Tennessee (4)VanderbiltKentucky

LSU (139)Alabama (72)Arkansas (6)Auburn (4)Texas A&MMississippi StateOle Miss (1)

But watch out for those Rebels. Hugh Freeze is, apparently, a miracle worker.

share story