Newcomer Ferguson named in NZ squad for Australia ODIs

BY foxsports • November 24, 2016

WELLINGTON, New Zealand (AP) Uncapped Auckland fast bowler Lockie Ferguson has been included in the New Zealand squad for the next month's Chappell Hadlee one-day series against Australia.

The 25-year-old has played only eight one-day matches at List A level, taking 16 wickets at an average of 28, and 21 first class games in which he has taken 74 wickets at 24.68. His ability to bowl regularly in excess of 150 kph fits the selectors' need to find a genuine fast bowler to replace Adam Milne who is out of action with a side strain.

Allrounder Colin de Grandhomme, who made his test debut in last week's first test against Pakistan, and Todd Astle, who returned to the New Zealand test side in that match after a four-year absence, have also been named.

Colin Munro, who also brings allround skills to the squad, returns after a back injury. He played his most-recent one-day international in August last year.

''Lockie has been impressive on the domestic scene and bowls at a pace which gives our bowling attack a different option,'' selector Gavin Larsen said. ''Todd and Colin de Grandhomme have both been in our thinking for ODIs and their ability with both bat and ball gives the squad an important balance.

''It's good to see Colin Munro return and immediately have an impact for Auckland. He's shown how dynamic a batsman he is so it's great to have him available again, especially in Ross (Taylor's) absence.''

Apart from Milne and Taylor, Mitchell McClenaghan, George Worker and Corey Anderson were unavailable because of injuries. B.J. Watling has been preferred over Luke Ronchi as wicketkeeper.

New Zealand holds the Chappell Hadlee Trophy and will meet Australia in one-day internationals at Sydney on Dec. 4, Canberra on Dec. 6 and Melbourne on Dec. 9.

''We saw last year how much the the Chappell-Hadlee rivalry meant to New Zealand fans,'' Larsen said. ''We've come out on top the last two times it's been on the line and it's a trophy the boys certainly enjoy having in the cabinet.''


New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, B.J. Watling.

share story