New Zealand wins toss, elects to bat against Pakistan

Updated Mar. 4, 2020 2:02 p.m. ET

MOHALI, India (AP) New Zealand captain Kane Williamson won the toss and elected to bat in the Group 2 match against injury-hit Pakistan at the World Twenty20 on Tuesday.

Pakistan suffered a double injury blow when left-arm fast bowler Wahab Riaz was rested due to a head injury and batsman Mohammad Hafeez was ruled out because of pain in his right knee.

Batsman Khalid Latif, who replaced Hafeez, was playing his first T20 international in almost four years while all-rounder Imad Wasim came in in place of Riaz.

New Zealand kept faith in the same XI which defeated Australia.

New Zealand has also beaten India to have four points from two matches while Pakistan has two points after winning against Bangladesh and losing to arch-rival India.




New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson (captain), Colin Munro, Corey Anderson, Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Mitchell McClenaghan, Ish Sodhi.

Pakistan: Sharjeel Khan, Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Khalid Latif, Sarfraz Ahmed, Shahid Afridi (captain), Imad Wasim, Mohammad Sami, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Irfan.