MLS MVP candidates Keane, Martins and Nguyen top awards nominations

BY foxsports • November 20, 2014

Bradley Wright-Phillips may have earned a share of the MLS single-season scoring record, but he couldn't find his way onto the Most Valuable Player shortlist.

The New York Red Bulls striker was not among the finalists for MVP announced Thursday, as LA Galaxy forward Robbie Keane, Seattle Sounders forward Obafemi Martins and New England Revolution midfielder Lee Nguyen made the cut.

Among categories for on-the-field exploits, D.C. United and Seattle led the way with four finalists each.

Here is a full rundown of the finalists and award announcement dates:

Most Valuable Player (Dec. 3): Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Obafemi Martins (Seattle Sounders), Lee Nguyen (New England Revolution)

Defender of the Year (Nov. 25): Bobby Boswell (D.C. United), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Dec. 3): Steve Clark (Columbus Crew), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Coach of the Year (Dec. 2): Gregg Berhalter (Columbus Crew), Ben Olsen (D.C. United), Sigi Schmid (Seattle Sounders FC)

Rookie of the Year (Nov. 24): Tesho Akindele (FC Dallas), Steven Birnbaum (D.C. United), Harrison Shipp (Chicago Fire)

Comeback Player of the Year (Dec. 2): Charlie Davies (New England Revolution), Stefan Frei (Seattle Sounders), Rodney Wallace (Portland Timbers)

Newcomer of the Year (Dec. 3): Stefan Ishizaki (LA Galaxy), Jermaine Jones (New England Revolution), Pedro Morales (Vancouver Whitecaps)

FOX Soccer and have teamed up to bring you the best in world soccer coverage. Visit, and follow them on Twitter and Facebook.

More from

Goal Posts - Daily LIVE soccer blog's Transfer Rumors

Goal - Headlines