Mizzou RB Hansbrough named to Campbell Award watch list

BY foxsports • August 19, 2015

Mizzou senior running back Russell Hansbrough has been named to the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award watch list, announced by the Tyler Chamber of Commerce.

This is the third major award watch list on which Hansbrough has landed. He also was named to the Maxwell and Doak Walker award watch lists earlier this summer.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award is given to the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Campbell, a Heisman Trophy-winning running back at Texas: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity. Previous winners of the award include Baylor's Bryce Petty (2013) and TCU's Trevone Boykin (2014).

Hansbrough has rushed for nearly 2,000 yards in his Mizzou career. He led Mizzou with his first 1,000-yard season in 2014, totaling 1,084 yards, a mark that ranked sixth in the SEC despite him starting just three games. He was also seventh in the SEC in rush yards per game. His 199-yard outburst at Texas A&M was the 10th-best single-game rush total in program history.

in this topic

share story