Mitch Larkin, Katinka Hosszu named FINA swimmers of the year

BY foxsports • January 31, 2016

BUDAPEST, Hungary (AP) The International Swimming Federation has named Australia's Mitch Larkin and Hungary's Katinka Hosszu as its best swimmers of 2015.

FINA also named China's He Chao the best male diver and his compatriot Shi Tingmao best female diver at its Sunday gala event in Budapest with Serbia considered the best male water polo team and the United States best female team.

Other winners included American Jordan Wilimovsky and Brazilian Ana Marcela Cunha in open water swimming, while Svetlana Romashina from Russia was best in women's synchronized swimming. Bill May from the U.S. and Russia's Alexandr Maltsev shared the honors as best male synchronized swimmers.

Britain's Gary Hart won the men's high diving category, while Rachelle Simpson from Britain repeated as the best female high diver.