Milestones in the Rugby World Cup final

October 31, 2015

LONDON (AP) New Zealand became the first team to win three Rugby World Cups.

New Zealand became the first team to successfully defend the RWC.

New Zealand extended its tournament record to 14 straight RWC wins.

Fourteen All Blacks won the RWC for a second time: Tony Woodcock, Keven Mealamu, Owen Franks, Ben Franks, Sam Whitelock, Jerome Kaino, Richie McCaw, Kieran Read, Victor Vito, Dan Carter, Colin Slade, Ma'a Nonu, Conrad Smith, and Sonny Bill Williams. They joined previous two-time winners, Australia's Phil Kearns, Jason Little, Tim Horan, Dan Crowley and John Eales, and South Africa's Os du Randt.


Richie McCaw extended a RWC record in captaining his side for the 13th time.

McCaw extended the world record for test appearances to 148.

McCaw's 22nd appearance in a RWC match equaled the record of England's Jason Leonard.

McCaw became the first player to captain his side in two triumphant RWC campaigns.

Dan Carter's 19 points were the most by an All Black in a RWC final, eclipsing Grant Fox's 17 in 1987.