Johnson leads Dayton past Ole Miss 78-71 in OT

BY foxsports • November 20, 2010

<strong>OXFORD, Miss. (AP)</strong> -- Chris Johnson scored 20 points and Dayton erased a 12-point deficit in the final eight minutes to defeat Mississippi 78-71 in overtime Saturday.<br><br>Josh Parker and Josh Benson scored 18 and 10 points, respectively for the Flyers (3-0), who outscored Ole Miss 13-6 in the extra frame. Dayton closed regulation play with a 14-2 run to tie the game at 65-65.<br><br>Ole Miss (2-1) had an opportunity to win in regulation, but Chris Warren missed a 3-pointer with 7 seconds left. The Flyers went on to dominate the overtime, hitting 9-of-10 free throws, capped with Johnson's layup at the buzzer.<br><br>Zach Graham led Ole Miss with 16 points, who led 46-33 at halftime. Nick Williams scored 14 points while Dundrecrous Nelson and Terrance Henry added 12 apiece for the Rebels.<br><br>The contest was a rematch of last year's NIT semifinals, won by eventual tournament champion Dayton 68-63.<br><br><strong>Updated November 20, 2010</strong>

share story