Jockey Wright, racing star of 1870s, elected to Hall of Fame

May 11, 2016

SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. (AP) Jockey Wayne D. Wright, winner of nearly 1,500 races including each of the Triple Crown legs in separate years, and thoroughbred Tom Ochiltree, a star in the 1870s, have been elected to the National Museum of Racing Hall of Fame.

The election by the museum's historic review committee puts the inductees in the previously announced class of 2016 that includes thoroughbreds Rachel Alexandra and Zenyatta, jockey Ramon Dominguez and trainer Steve Asmussen.

Wright, an Idaho native, began riding in 1932 at the age of 15. Over the next 18 years, he won 1,492 races, including the 1934 Belmont, the 1942 Kentucky Derby and the 1945 Preakness. Wright died in 2003 at 86.

Tom Ochiltree, named after a Civil War officer and congressman from Texas, won 21 races from 1875-77.


Induction is Aug. 12 in Saratoga Springs, New York.