Jerry Jones 'surprised' Romo not in MVP discussion

BY foxsports • December 19, 2014

Dallas Cowboys owner, president and general manager Jerry Jones has only had one Most Valuable Player winner in his 25 years of running the team, and that was running back Emmitt Smith in 1993. It does not appear Jones will have another one after the 2014 season plays out.

With Dallas at 10-4 and scrapping for an NFC East title, which would punch their ticket for the playoffs, arguably the driving force behind the Cowboys' success has been quarterback Tony Romo, who is not in discussion for league Most Valuable Player honors.

Jerry Jones may have an idea.

"Well, the facts are that Romo has had so much written about him, about December, what he's not, I am surprised that now he's actually having such a great year and I emphasize that word, I'm surprised that it's not a bigger headline," Jones told 105.3 The Fan [KRLD-FM] on Friday.

Romo is second to Green Bay's Aaron Rodgers, a leading MVP candidate, in passer rating: 111.2 to 110.4. The Cowboys are also 7-0 on the road with Romo in the lineup. The last three quarterbacks to go 7-0 on the road won the MVP award: Rodgers in 2011, Peyton Manning in 2009, and Tom Brady in 2007.

Also, is RB DeMarcus Murray threatening to hamper/split the vote?


- Highest paid coaches in college football

- Ranking NFL quarterback salaries

- Oldest player on every NBA team

share story