Final AP boys' basketball poll released for 2014

BY Marcus Hartman • February 17, 2014

With the boys' basketball regular season complete in Ohio, four teams have been crowned champions of the Associated Press poll.

In Division I, Cincinnati Moeller edged Zanesville by three points to take the title. Both teams received seven first-place votes while No. 3 Lakewood St. Edward and No. 4 Massillon Jackson also received one apiece, as did No. 9 Shaker Heights. Trotwood-Madison rounded out the top five (via the Dayton Daily News).

Moeller also won the Division I football poll last fall, and the Crusaders will try to add a basketball tournament title to the football state championship they won in Canton in December.

There was more of a consensus in Division II, where undefeated Ontario (20-0) took 13 of the first-place votes to top the poll ahead of No. 2 Norwalk, No. 3 Dayton Dunbar and No. 4 Columbus Watterson. Dunbar and Watterson received a pair of first-place votes apiece. Watterson is the defending state champion.

Beachwood received seven first-place votes while taking home the top spot in Division III, where Cleveland Villa Angela-St. Joseph and Belmont Union Local both had four first-place votes and finished second and third, respectively, in the poll. VA-SJ won the Division IV tournament last season, and the Vikings' lineup features highly rated junior forward Carlton Bragg.

Undefeated Convoy Crestview (21-0) is the Division IV champion, but No. 2 New Madison Tri-Village and No. 5 Toledo Ottawa Hills also received one first-place vote apiece.

Follow on Twitter @marcushartman

share story