Crew's Trapp named part of Under-20 team

BY foxsports • April 23, 2013

U-20 Head Coach Tab Ramos names Trapp to 23-man roster for Carson, Calif. camp from April 22-29; squad preparing for 2013 FIFA U-20 World Cup in June
For Immediate Release: April 23, 2013
COLUMBUS – U.S. Under-20 Men’s National Team Head Coach Tab Ramos has named Columbus Crew Homegrown Player Wil Trapp as one of 23 players for an April 22-29 training camp at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. The team is preparing for the 2013 FIFA U-20 World Cup, which takes place June 21-July 13 in Turkey.
The United States’ weeklong camp concludes with an April 28 match against the reserve team of Major League Soccer’s Chivas USA. As a result, Trapp will not be available for the Crew’s April 27 match against D.C. United at Crew Stadium (7:30 p.m. ET / FOX Sports Ohio).
This camp marks the first for the U-20s since their strong runner-up performance at the CONCACAF U-20 Championship, where Trapp was named to the tournament’s Best XI squad. The U-20 MNT qualified for the U-20 World Cup when it defeated Canada 4-2 on Feb. 26 to advance to the semifinals of the CONCACAF U-20 Championship. The United States claimed second place in the tournament, which was capped off by a hard fought 3-1 overtime loss to host Mexico in the title match at Estadio Cuauhtémoc in Puebla.
Trapp is one of eight U-20 players with current MLS ties, and he joins Crew Technical Director Brian Bliss in camp, who serves as an Assistant Coach on Ramos’ staff.
United States U-20 Roster by Position:
GOALKEEPERS (2): Cody Cropper (Southampton FC; Maple Grove, Minn.), Kendall McIntosh (Santa Clara; Santa Rosa, Calif.)
DEFENDERS (8): AJ Cochran (Wisconsin; St. Louis, Mo.), Sean Cunningham (Molde FK; Troy, Mich.), Eric Miller (Creighton; Woodbury, Minn.), Juan Pablo Ocegueda (C.D. Guadalajara; Riverside, Calif.), Jeffrey Payeras (C.S.D. Municipal; Hawthorne, Calif.), Oscar Sorto (LA Galaxy; Los Angeles, Calif.), Javan Torre (UCLA; Santa Monica, Calif.), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders; Seattle, Wash.)
MIDFIELDERS (7): Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas; Plano, Texas), Marlon Hairston (Louisville; Jackson, Miss.), Benji Joya (Santos Laguna; San Jose, Calif.), Mikey Lopez (Sporting Kansas City; Mission, Texas), Collin Martin (Wake Forest; Chevy Chase, Md.), Dillon Serna (Colorado Rapids; Brighton, Colo.), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew; Gahanna, Ohio)
FORWARDS (6): Daniel Cuevas (Santos Laguna; Sacramento, Calif.), Daniel Garcia (North Carolina; Dallas, Texas), Alfred Koroma (Akron; Southlake, Texas), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders Academy; Mercer Island, Wash.), Victor Pineda (Chicago Fire; Bolingbrook, Ill.), Omar Salgado (Vancouver Whitecaps; El Paso, Texas)

share story