Cal's Franklin ends college swim career with NCAA win

BY foxsports • March 22, 2015

GREENSBORO, N.C. (AP) Missy Franklin of California won the 200-yard backstroke with the second-fastest time ever for her third title of the NCAA women's swimming and diving championships Saturday night, and helped the Golden Bears win the team title.

The four-time Olympic gold medalist touched first in 1 minute, 47.91 seconds in the final meet of her college career. Franklin plans to turn pro after two years of college and is aiming to compete in the 2016 Rio Olympics.

Courtney Bartholomew of Virginia finished second in 1:49.35.

Franklin returned to lead off as part of the Golden Bears' second-place finish in the 400 freestyle relay. The Stanford team of Lia Neal, Janet Hu, Lindsey Engel and Simone Manuel won in an American-record time of 3:08.54.

Cal took second in 3:09.76, also going under the old record of 3:09.40 set by Georgia two years ago.

Cal won the team title with 513 points at the Greensboro Aquatic Center. Georgia finished second with 452 and Stanford was third at 363.

Manuel set an American record in winning the 100 free in 46.09 seconds for her second individual title of the meet. Her teammate Neal was second in 47.13.

Kelsi Worrell completed a sweep of the butterfly events, winning the 200 fly in 1:51.11. Leah Smith of Virginia swept the distance events, adding the 1,650 freestyle title in 15:34.46. Kierra Smith of Minnesota won the 200 breaststroke in 2:04.56 - third-fastest ever.

Indiana's Jessica Parratto won the platform diving title with 367.00 points. Haley Ishimatsu of Southern California was second at 339.65.

share story