Buckeyes keep piling up postseason honors

BY Marcus Hartman • December 17, 2014

The honors just keep rolling in for the Ohio State football team.

The latest came Wednesday when Joey Bosa was named to the Football Writers Association of America's 71st All-America team. That makes five such honors for the sophomore defensive lineman, who previously made the first team for the Associated Press, Walter Camp, Sporting News and American Football Coaches Association.

Bosa is the 27th Buckeye to be a unanimous All-American and the first since linebacker James Laurinaitis in 2007. He is the first OSU defensive lineman to pull off the sweep since middle guard Jim Stillwagon in 1970.  

Bosa logged 13.5 sacks and 20 tackles for loss this season as the Buckeyes won the Big Ten championship and were picked for the inaugural College Football Championship.

He was just one of many young players to play a big role for head coach Urban Meyer's team, as evidenced by another announcement this week.

Four Buckeyes made the Athlon's Freshman All-America team: quarterback J.T. Barrett, linebackers Darron Lee and Raekwon McMillan and cornerback Eli Apple. Offensive lineman Billy Price made the second team and H-back Jalin Marshall (who ran the ball, caught passes and returned punts) was on the third team.

share story