Brewers assign six players to Arizona Fall League

BY foxsports • August 31, 2016

The Milwaukee Brewers announced six players will participate in the Arizona Fall League this year, highlighted by three players obtained in trades.

The six are right-handed pitchers Tayler Scott, Tyler Spurlin and Josh Uhen, shortstop Isan Diaz, catcher Jake Nottingham and outfielder Brett Phillips.

Scott is a former Chicago Cubs draft pick who was signed by the Brewers this past offseason. At Double-A Biloxi this season the 24-year-old has a 5.01 ERA and 1.29 WHIP in 23 1/3 innings.

The 25-year-old Spurlin has been in the Brewers' organization since 2013, when he signed with them out of Rice University. He has pitched for Brevard County and Biloxi this season and has a 2.68 ERA and 1.27 WHIP in a combined 50 1/3 innings.

Uhen, Milwaukee's fifth-round pick in 2013, had a 4.34 ERA in 49 2/3 innings with Brevard County this season and was recently recalled to Biloxi, where he has tossed 5 2/3 scoreless innings.

Diaz was acquired in a trade with Arizona this past offseason and has a slash line of 273/367/486 with 20 home runs and 74 RBI in 130 games. He leads the Midwest League in home runs and total bases (235) and is tied for second in walks (70).

Phillips was part of the 2015 deadline deal with Houston for Carlos Gomez. At Double-A Biloxi this season, Phillips is batting 229/332/392 with 15 home runs and 12 stolen bases.

Nottingham was acquired from Oakland for Khris Davis in the offseason. Also at Biloxi, he is batting 233/296/340 with 10 home runs in 107 games.

The Arizona Fall League is scheduled to open Oct. 11 with the championship game on Nov. 19.

share story