Big Ten announces division names

December 13, 2010

FOX Sports Detroit

The Big Ten announced Monday afternoon that the two divisions for football beginning next season will be called "Legends" and "Leaders."

Michigan and Michigan State will be in the Legends Division, along with Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska and Northwestern.

The Leaders Division will be comprised of Illinois, Indiana, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin.

The division winners will play December 3 in the Big Ten championship game at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis. The game will be televised by Fox Sports.

"We wanted to make choices that would best honor our history and traditions, reflect our core values and characteristics, and tell our story, " Big Ten commissioner Jim Delaney said of the division names. "We involved many thoughtful, dedicated professionals and we listened to many ideas from our member schools, alumni and fans."

The Big Ten also unveiled a new logo, which does not include a reference to 12 teams, the way the previous did with an 11 burned into it.

In addition, 18 new trophies were announced by the conference, including these:

*Stagg-Paterno Championship Trophy to the winner of the Big Ten title game, honoring former University of Chicago coach Amos Alonzo Stagg and Penn State coach Joe Paterno. Chicago was an original member of the Big Ten before dropping out.

*Grange-Griffin Championship Game MVP, honoring former players Red Grange (Illinois) and Archie Griffin (Ohio State).

* Ford-Kinnick Leadership Award (former U.S. President Gerald R. Ford, who played football at Michigan).

* Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year (former Michigan defensive back Charles Woodson).

*Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year (former Michigan coach Bo Schembechler).

* Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year (former Michigan State defensive end Bubba Smith).

* Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year (former Michigan receiver Desmond Howard).

* Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year (former Michigan State kicker Morten Andersen).

* Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year (former Michigan State punter Brandon Fields).

Dec. 13, 2010