Big East changes up football schedule for 2013

Big East changes up football schedule for 2013

Published Jan. 18, 2013 1:49 p.m. ET

PROVIDENCE, R.I. (AP) -- The Big East has released a revised 2013 schedule that will have each of its 10 football teams playing eight regular-season conference games.

The announcement Friday came after Boise State and San Diego State decided to remain in the Mountain West Conference. That scuttled the Big East's plan to split into two six-team divisions for football and hold a championship game.

The Big East will have newcomers Central Florida, Houston, Memphis and SMU join Louisville, Cincinnati, Rutgers, Connecticut, Temple and South Florida for football. Pittsburgh and Syracuse are leaving for the Atlantic Coast Conference.

With an eight-game conference schedule, each of the 10 teams will play all but one league opponent in 2013. Last year, the eight teams played everyone.

The only change for UCF comes in the form of an away game. When the initial schedule was announced Dec. 11, UCF was scheduled to face Cincinnati, Louisville, SMU and Temple on the road, and play host to Connecticut, Houston, Rutgers and USF.

The Knights will now play Memphis on the road instead of Cincinnati.

USF's conference opponents do not change. The Bulls will have home conference games against Cincinnati, Louisville, Memphis and SMU, and have road contests against Connecticut, Houston and Rutgers, as well as the aforementioned UCF game.

Dates for conference games will be announced later.