Australia wins toss, bowls 1st in 2nd ODI v South Africa

BY foxsports • October 2, 2016

JOHANNESBURG (AP) Australia captain Steve Smith won the toss and opted to bowl first Sunday in the second limited-overs international against South Africa.

The Australians picked a pair of tall, uncapped fast bowlers in an overhaul of the lineup that lost the series-opener by six wickets at the Centurion on Friday, giving Chris Tremain and Joe Mennie their first starts in ODI cricket.

It's the first time in five years Australia has started with two uncapped players in a one-dayer. South Africa's lineup is unchanged, with Hashim Amla remaining on the sidelines.


South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Rilee Rossouw, Faf du Plessis (captain), JP Duminy, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Andile Phehlukwayo, Wayne Parnell, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir.

Australia: David Warner, 2 Aaron Finch, 3 Steve Smith (captain), George Bailey, Mitchell Marsh, Travis Head, Matthew Wade, John Hastings, Adam Zampa, Chris Tremain, Joe Mennie.

share story