Arizona's Scooby Wright wins Bednarik Award as top defender

BY foxsports • December 11, 2014

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. -- Arizona linebacker Scooby Wright has won the Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the nation's defensive player of the year.

The sophomore was presented with the award Thursday night during the College Football Awards Show at Disney.

He joins USC linebacker Rey Maualuga in 2008 as the only Pac-12 players to win the award. Wright also won the Lombardi Award on Wednesday night as the nation's best lineman/linebacker, and the Bronko Nagurski Award on Monday night as the top defensive player in college football. In addition, he was the Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year.

Wright was selected over Bednarik finalists Vic Beasley of Clemson and Joey Bosa of Ohio State.

Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald won the award in 2013.

This marks the third consecutive season in which a defender swept the Nagurski, Lombardi and Bednarik Awards. Notre Dame linebacker Manti Teo' did it in 2012 before Donald last season.

Wright has 153 tackles, including 28 for loss and 14 sacks, this season. He also has forced six fumbles.

share story