Anita Wlodarczyk's world record provides ISTAF highlight

September 1, 2014


Olympic champion Robert Harting delighted home fans by winning the discus at the ISTAF athletics meet Sunday, only to be overshadowed by Anita Wlodarczyk's world record in the women's hammer throw.

Wlodarczyk of Poland threw 79.58 meters on her second attempt to knock 16 centimeters off Betty Heidler's previous mark from 2011.

The European champion and Olympic silver medalist continued threatening the 80-meter mark with her next efforts at the IAAF Word Challenge meet.

''I was aiming for 80 meters and I know I am able to throw it,'' said the 29-year-old Wlodarczyk, who set a world record when winning the 2009 world title at the same Olympic stadium.

Germany's Heidler finished second with 75.20.

Harting claimed the discus with a throw of 68.21 meters, 18 days after he claimed his second European title in Zurich. It was his 12th win of the season.

''Wins are never boring,'' Harting said.

Lithuania's Virgilijus Alekna ended his impressive career with a throw of 61.84.

''It feels a bit sad but I was competing for a very long time,'' said the 42-year-old Alekna. ''Berlin was the right place to close up my long career because it is the place where I started so many times and it is a nice venue.''

On the track, world champion Mohammed Aman of Ethiopia provided another highlight by winning the men's 800 in 1 minute, 43.52 seconds.

Richard Thompson of Trinidad and Tobago won the men's 100 meters in a modest time of 10.15 seconds, while Jamaica's Kerron Stewart claimed the women's sprint in 11.25.

In other men's events, Cuba's Orlando Ortega defeated compatriot Daylon Robles to win the 110 hurdles in 13.08, while Ethiopia's Mekonnen Gebremedhin set a personal best of 3:33.24 to win the 1,500.

Brunei's Ruth Jebet won the women's 3000 steeplechase in 9:26.94, Ethiopia's Tigist Assefa claimed the 800 in 2:00.16 and Tiffany Porter of Britain won the 100 hurdles in 12.64.

Germans claimed the women's and men's shot put, with European champions Christina Schwanitz and David Storl both winning.