Pruett-Rojas win 6th straight, repeat at Barber

BY foxsports • April 10, 2011

Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas easily won the Porsche 250 on Saturday to extend their Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series record winning streak to six races.

The pair won on the 2.38-mile road course at Barber Motorsports Park for the second straight year. Pruett and Rojas - drivers of a BMW Riley prototype for owners Chip Ganassi and Felix Sabates - also won at Barber in 2008 and are the defending champions of the Daytona Prototype class.

''For whatever reason, we found a real sweet spot with the car and the tire, and it would just run and run and run,'' Pruett said. ''We were real happy with it.''

Jon Fogarty and Alex Gurney finished second while Mike Forest and Ryan Dalziel were third.

''Probably 15 laps from the end, we definitely lost the tires and just faded pretty big-time,'' Gurney said.

Pruett passed Burt Frisselle to take the lead on the inside in Turn 17 with 39 minutes left in the 2-hour, 45-minute race. He reached the finish line 28.954 seconds ahead of Gurney and Fogarty.

Rojas started the race with the tires used in qualifying to keep more fresh sets available, and the tactic helped with the strong finish.

''We knew our goal was to focus on saving tires,'' Rojas said.

Bill Auberlen and Paul Dalla Lana won the production-based GT class in a BMW M3 for their second straight victory.

in this topic

share story