NASCAR on FOX ready for 2012

BY foxsports • September 28, 2011

NASCAR unveiled the 2012 Sprint Cup schedule on Wednesday and it features just a few minor tweaks to the current year's slate of races.

The season starts a week later, with the Budweiser Shootout kicking off Daytona Speedweeks on FOX, Feb. 18. FOX will carry the Daytona 500 on Feb. 26.

The tour rolls west to Phoenix International Raceway on March 3, followed by the race at Las Vegas on March 10. During FOX’s NASCAR schedule, other races that change are Texas Motor Speedway on April 4, due to the Easter holiday. Kansas Speedway will receive an earlier spring date (April 22) to offer adequate time for the track’s repaving project in 2012 and Kansas’ fall date will move to Oct. 21 to allow the track sufficient time to cure.

Since Independence Day is mid-week in 2012, Daytona’s traditional Fourth of July weekend will be July 6-7. Kentucky Speedway’s race date will advance one week to June 30.

The lineup in the 2012 Chase for the Sprint Cup will take on a slightly different complexion with Talladega Superspeedway swapping with Kansas to the fourth race in the Chase on Oct. 7. The Kansas Chase race will now be the sixth of 10 playoff races to determine the Sprint Cup champion.

“We believe the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series schedule will once again provide fans with what they’ve come to expect every season – the world’s most exciting and competitive form of motorsports,” said Brian France, NASCAR chairman and CEO.

“Next year’s schedule has a few adjustments that we think will be good for the fans and good for the overall flow of the season. One thing will remain constant, however, and that’s the intense competition we see week in and week out from our drivers and race teams.”

Here is the complete schedule:

Feb. 18, Daytona International Speedway (non-points Budweiser Shootout)
Feb. 26, Daytona International Speedway
March 4, Phoenix International Raceway
March 11, Las Vegas Motor Speedway
March 18, Bristol Motor Speedway
March 25, California Speedway
April 1, Martinsville Speedway
April 14, Texas Motor Speedway
April 22, Kansas Speedway
April 28, Richmond International Raceway
May 6, Talladega Superspeedway
May 12, Darlington Raceway
May 19, Charlotte Motor Speedway (non-points All-Star Race)
May 27, Charlotte Motor Speedway
June 3, Dover International Speedway
June 10, Pocono Raceway
June 17, Michigan International Speedway
June 24, Infineon Raceway
June 30, Kentucky Speedway
July 7, Daytona International Speedway
July 15, New Hampshire Motor Speedway
July 29, Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Aug. 5, Pocono Raceway
Aug. 12, Watkins Glen International
Aug. 19, Michigan International Speedway
Aug. 25, Bristol Motor Speedway
Sept. 2, Atlanta Motor Speedway
Sept. 8, Richmond International Raceway
Sept. 16, Chicagoland Speedway
Sept. 23, New Hampshire Motor Speedway
Sept. 30, Dover International Speedway
Oct. 7, Talladega Superspeedway
Oct. 13, Charlotte Motor Speedway
Oct. 21, Kansas Speedway
Oct. 28, Martinsville Speedway
Nov. 4, Texas Motor Speedway
Nov. 11, Phoenix International Raceway
Nov. 18, Homestead-Miami Speedway

in this topic

share story