Facts and figures at Indy

BY foxsports • May 28, 2011

Facts and figures of the 95th Indianapolis 500-mile race Sunday at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway:

EVENT - The 95th Indianapolis 500.

DISTANCE - 500 miles; 200 laps around the asphalt-on-brick Indianapolis Motor Speedway track, a 2.5-mile rectangular oval.


RACE CARS - Open-cockpit, open-wheel and single-seat, with 3.5-liter, 635-horsepower normally aspirated Honda Indy V-8 engines.

PACE CAR - 2011 Chevrolet Camaro SS, driven by four-time race winner A.J. Foyt.

START - Noon EDT from a flying start, following warmup, parade and pace laps.

FINISH - Standings are unofficial until posted by the IndyCar Series.

NUMBER OF STARTERS - 33 cars; three abreast in each of 11 rows.

POLE POSITION - Alex Tagliani, the first Canadian to win the Indy pole after averaging 227.472 mph in 4-lap qualifications. He will start first, the inside of the front row, for the first time in three Indy starts.

SLOWEST QUALIFIER - Ana Beatriz, who averaged 223.879 mph. Will start 32nd, the middle of the 11th row.

FASTEST ROOKIE - JR Hildebrand, 225.579 mph. Will start 12th, the outside of the fourth row.

2010 WINNER - Dario Franchitti, who averaged 161.623 mph for his second win at Indianapolis last year.

FORMER WINNERS IN RACE (5) - Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002, 2009), Dario Franchitti (2007 and 2010), Buddy Rice (2004), Dan Wheldon (2005), Scott Dixon (2008).

ROOKIES IN RACE (5) - JR Hildebrand, James Hinchcliffe, Jay Howard, Charlie Kimball and Pippa Mann.

YOUNGEST IN RACE - Graham Rahal, 22 (Born Jan. 4, 1989)

OLDEST IN RACE - Davey Hamilton, 48 (Born June 13, 1962)

MOST PREVIOUS RACES - John Andretti (11).

FOREIGN BORN (22) - Alex Tagliani, Canada; Scott Dixon, New Zealand; Oriol Servia, Spain; Will Power, Australia; Dan Wheldon, England; Dario Franchitti, Scotland; Takuma Sato, Japan; Vitor Meira, Brazil; James Hinchcliffe, Canada; Bertrand Baguette, Belgium; Helio Castroneves, Brazil; E.J. Viso, Venezuela; Justin Wilson, England; Jay Howard, England; Tomas Scheckter, South Africa; Tony Kanaan, Brazil; Simona De Silvestro, Switzerland; Paul Tracy, Canada; Ryan Briscoe, Australia; Alex Lloyd, England; Pippa Mann, England; Ana Beatriz, Brazil.

FIELD AVERAGE IN QUALIFICATIONS - 225.273 mph (Record 228.648 mph, 2002)

QUALIFICATION RECORD - 236.986 mph, Arie Luyendyk, 1996.

RACE RECORD - 185.981 mph, Arie Luyendyk, 1990.

CLOSEST FINISHES - 0.043 seconds, Al Unser Jr. over Scott Goodyear, 1992; 0.0635 seconds, Sam Hornish Jr. over Marco Andretti, 2006.

PURSE - Depends on attendance and accessory awards; 2010 payoff was $13.6 million, of which winner Dario Franchitti received a record $2.75 million for Target Chip Ganassi.

CROWD - Estimated at up to 400,000. Speedway never discloses attendance but admits to more than 250,000 reserved seats in permanent stands and room for 100,000 or more in the infield.

TELEVISION - Televised live and in high definition by ESPN on ABC starting at 11 a.m. EDT, one hour before the race, with host Brent Musburger, lead announcer Marty Reid, analysts Eddie Cheever and Scott Goodyear, and pit reporters Rick DeBruhl, Jamie Little, Jerry Punch and Vince Welch.

RADIO - More than 340 affiliate IMS Radio Network stations throughout the United States and Canada, plus XM 94, Sirius 212, American Forces Radio Network, shortwave radio worldwide and the Internet, with Indianapolis Motor Speedway Radio Network anchor Mike King, IMS historian Donald Davidson, Jerry Baker and Paul Page in the booth; Jake Query, Mark Jaynes and Chris Denari in the turns, Kevin Lee, Dave Argabright and Nick Yeoman in the pits and Dave Wilson in the garage.

MORTALITY - There have been 68 deaths at the Speedway, including pre-500 races of 1909-10. Last death was Aug. 30, 2010 when motorcycle rider Peter Lenz of Vancouver, Wash., was killed in a preliminary race to the Indianapolis MotoGP.

THE TROPHY - Sterling silver Borg-Warner Trophy, 5-feet, 4 3/4-inches, 110-pounds, with bas-relief bust of each winner. Valued at more than $1 million, on permanent display at Speedway Hall of Fame Museum. Each winner receives an 18-inch sterling silver replica.

in this topic

share story