NASCAR Cup Series
Busch enters ownership with Truck Series team
NASCAR Cup Series

Busch enters ownership with Truck Series team

Published Dec. 16, 2009 11:11 p.m. ET

Kyle Busch is entering team ownership with two entries next season in NASCAR's Camping World Truck Series.

Kyle Busch Motorsports will field the No. 18 Toyota and drive it himself in companion races to the Sprint Cup Series. Brian Ickler will drive the truck when Busch has other obligations.

Tyler Malsam will run the full season in the second entry, the No. 56 Toyota.

``Everyone knows how much I love to race, and the Camping World Truck Series is one of my favorite places to race, so to be a team owner in this series is a perfect match,'' Busch said.


Busch has 16 career wins in the Truck Series, including seven wins in 15 starts this past season for Billy Ballew. Despite skipping 10 races, Busch kept Ballew in the running for the owner's championship all the way through the season finale.

Busch was able to build his team by purchasing the assets of Xpress Motorsports. KBM will use Xpress Motorsports' shop in Mooresville until construction is completed on a new building.

Rick Ren will oversee the organization as director of competition. Ren was crew chief at Kevin Harvick Inc. for Ron Hornaday's championships in 2007 and 2009 in the Truck Series.

``A person can work their whole career in any profession and not get an opportunity like this,'' Ren said. ``I've been involved in some other startup, ground-floor programs, but not of this magnitude. It's a great opportunity for me, and everyone who will be a part of Kyle Busch Motorsports.

``There have been great race car drivers, but Kyle has the opportunity to be one of the all-time greats. Getting the chance to help a guy like that who has a dream of building his own race team is an honor.''


Get more from NASCAR Cup Series Follow your favorites to get information about games, news and more

in this topic