Tony Schumacher takes record-breaking 10th win at U.S. Nationals

BY foxsports • September 5, 2016

Tony Schumacher, Matt Hagan, Chris McGaha and Andrew Hines picked up wins on Monday at the 2016 Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis.

For Hagan and McGaha, it was their first wins at the prestigious U.S. Nationals, while for Schumacher it was his 10th - something that have never been done in one of the pro categories before.

Additionally, several racers went home relieved having locked themselves into the 2016 Countdown to The Championship so that they can fight for their respective titles at the end of the season.

However, by the time the finals rolled around, those racers had all been eliminated, and it was a new set of names gridding up to make the headlines.

In Top Fuel, Don Schumacher Racing's Tony Schumacher lined up in the final looking for his 10th career U.S. Nationals win, while Steve Torrence was simply looking for his first. Schumacher took the spoils with a photo finish in a holeshot win over Torrence. Schumacher had made it to the final after defeating J.R. Todd in a pedalfest. He had also defeated Antron Brown and Tripp Tatum in the opening rounds en route to the final.

Meanwhile in Funny Car, it was Matt Hagan of Don Schumacher Racing who was up against Del Worsham of Kalitta Motorsports. Hagan took the spoils in the final with a holeshot win, taking home his first Wally from Indianapolis. Hagan had made it into the final with round wins against John Bojec, Robert Hight and Tommy Johnson Jr.

In Pro Stock, it was guaranteed that there would be a first-time U.S. Nationals winner when Chris McGaha and Allen Johnson both raced their ways into the Pro Stock final. The race turned out in McGaha's favor for his first career NHRA Pro Stock win. McGaha had made it into the final with round wins over Matt Hartford, Curt Steinbach and Vincent Nobile.

In Pro Stock Motorcycle, both Hector Arana Jr. and Andrew Hines were looking to pick up their second Wally at Indianapolis. Hines was the one who took home the honors on Monday after Arana Jr. red-lighted in the final. Hines made it into the final with round wins against Melissa Surber, Jerry Savoie and L.E. Tonglet.

The Countdown to The Championship kicks off in just two weeks time with the NHRA Carolina Nationals in Charlotte, N.C.