Pedrosa cruises to Indy GP victory

Pedrosa cruises to Indy GP victory

Published Aug. 19, 2012 8:46 p.m. ET

Spain's Dani Pedrosa took the lead early Sunday and pulled away from the 22-motorcyle field to become the first two-time winner of the Indianapolis Grand Prix in record-setting fashion.

Pedrosa beat another Spaniard, points leader Jorge Lorenzo, by 10.823 seconds on Indy's 2.621-mile, 16-turn road course.

It was the largest victory margin in the five-year history of the race. Italy's Andrea Dovizioso was third, more than 17 seconds behind the winner.

Australia's Casey Stoner finished fourth after starting sixth, despite racing with chip fractures and four torn ligaments in his right ankle.

American Ben Spies appeared to be Pedrosa's biggest challenger early, but dropped out after smoke started pouring from his No. 11 bike with 22 laps left in the race.