Dixon wins IndyCar race at Watkins Glen; Power crashes

BY foxsports • September 4, 2016

WATKINS GLEN, N.Y. (AP) Scott Dixon won the IndyCar Grand Prix at the Glen on Sunday at Watkins Glen International.

It's his 40th victory overall, moving the New Zealander him fourth place on the career list. He also won for the second of the season, and fourth at The Glen.

Dixon won the pole Saturday with a speed of over 147 mph and a record-shattering time that eclipsed the previous record by nearly six seconds on the new pavement at the 11-turn, 3.37-mile natural terrain layout. And he dominated the race, leading 50 of the 60 laps.

Josef Newgarden was second, followed by Helio Castroneves, Conor Daly, and Sebastien Bourdais fifth.

Simon Pagenaud finished seventh and increased his lead over Will Power to 43 points standings with one race remaining in the season. Power crashed just past the midpoint of the race and finished 20th. He was not permitted to return to the race because of concussion symptoms.

The two Penske drivers are the only ones still in contention for the title.

It was the first IndyCar race at The Glen since Power won from the pole in 2010.


AP Auto Racing Website: www.racing.ap.org


Follow Kekis on Twitter: www.twitter.com/Greek1947

share story