Brandon Jones comes back from spin to win ARCA race at Michigan

BY Samuel Reiman • June 16, 2017

Brandon Jones won the Corrigan Oil 200 on Friday as the ARCA Racing Series hit the Michigan International Speedway. It was his first win of the season in his second race of the year.

Brandon Jones led the field away for the first of 100 laps Friday afternoon at the 2.0-mile circuit in Brooklyn, Michigan.

Jones continued to lead until Lap 11 when the first caution of the race flew as Justin Fontaine - who was making his return following his scary crash at Daytona in February - started to leak oil after contact with the wall.

The oil led to several cars sliding and spinning on the circuit, including  Jones. Fortunately, he avoided the wall.

Weatherman led the field back to green after a lengthy clean up and had built up a healthy lead by the halfway point. However, Jones was rallying his way back up through the field and found himself in second on Lap 45.

Jones got the lead back just a few laps later when Weatherman came in for his scheduled stop, and then the second yellow of the race flew as the right front tire of Zane Smith’s Toyota blew and he made hard impact with the wall. Smith was holding onto his knee after exiting his car but was checked and released from the infield care center.

Most of the field came into the pits for their scheduled stop under the caution and Vinnie Miller took over the lead.

On the restart, Miller and Riley Herbst went into Turn 3 side-by-side and made contact. Both cars ended up in the wall while a few more cars spun behind. Fortunately for Weatherman, he was able to make his way through and took over the top spot.

The race went back green with 35 laps to go with Weatherman holding off a challenge by Jones on the restart to maintain the lead.

Weatherman held it until seven laps to go when he got into the wall off Turn 2. Jones, who was running less than a second behind at the time, snuck on by for the lead and the win while Weatherman was forced to pit for repairs. He finished 14th.

Unofficial race results:

1. Brandon Jones
2. Austin Theriault
3. Dalton Sargeant
4. Bret Holmes
5. Gus Dean
6. Ty Majeski
7. Kyle Benjamin
8. Codie Rohrbaugh
9. Spencer Davis
10. Vinnie Miller

share story