Zimmer elected to Red Sox Hall of Fame

BY foxsports • September 17, 2010

The Boston Red Sox Hall of Fame has five new members.

Tommy Harper, Jimmy Piersall, John Valentin, Don Zimmer and Eddie Kasko were enshrined on Friday afternoon, then the five were honored in a ceremony before the Red Sox played the Toronto Blue Jays.

Joining them was Tom Brunansky, whose catch to end the 1990 regular season, giving the Red Sox the AL East title, was recognized as a ''Memorable Moment.''

Red Sox manager Terry Francona lingered to give Zimmer a big hug on the field. Francona said before the game that his father got his break in the majors when Piersall needed a day off with the 1959 Cleveland Indians.

Kasko couldn't attend the ceremony, but he was represented by his family.

share story