Umpire Layne named crew chief for World Series

BY foxsports • October 18, 2011

Umpire Jerry Layne has been named crew chief for the World Series between the Texas Rangers and St. Louis Cardinals.

The six-man crew announced Tuesday by Major League Baseball includes two umpires working their first Series: Greg Gibson and Ron Kulpa.

A 23-year major league umpire, Layne will be working his second Series and first as crew chief. He will be behind the plate Wednesday in St. Louis for Game 1.

Regular season crew chief Gary Cederstrom, Ted Barrett and Alfonso Marquez will also be making their second World Series appearances.

All six umpires worked in the division series.

Gibson will be at first base, Marquez at second, Kulpa at third, Barrett in left field and Cederstrom in right for the opener.

share story