Wentworth to play host to all 4 major champions

Published May. 25, 2011 1:54 p.m. ET

The BMW PGA Championship will have all four current major champions in the field for the first time when the tournament tees off Thursday.

PGA Championship holder Martin Kaymer, U.S. Open champion Graeme McDowell, Masters winner Charl Schwartzel and British Open champ Louis Oosthuizen lead the field. It includes seven of the top 10 players and all the victorious European Ryder Cup Team, except for the injured Padraig Harrington.

Kaymer, who along with Luke Donald is bidding to take Lee Westwood's No. 1 spot, says ''it's probably the best field we have ever had here.''