PGA player DQ'd after hitting himself in head with putter

BY foxsports • May 6, 2016

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) PGA Tour golfer Zac Blair has been disqualified from the Wells Fargo Championship after hitting himself in the head with his putter - and then using the bent club to finish out the hole.

Blair smacked the putter against his head Friday after missing a birdie putt on the fifth hole.

He could have finished the round by using a different club to putt, but was disqualified when he finished the hole by tapping in for a par with the bent putter.

Blair was disqualified by officials for breaking rule 4-3b, which stipulates if ''a player's club is damaged other than in the normal course of play rendering it non-conforming or changing its playing characteristics, the club must not subsequently be used or replayed during the round.''


share story