Tebow, McCoy finalists for top scholar-athlete

BY foxsports • October 29, 2009

The Campbell Trophy is presented by the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame. The winner receives $25,000 in scholarship money. All the finalists receive an $18,000 scholarship toward postgraduate studies.

The other finalists announced Thursday were Illinois guard Jon Asamoah; BYU linebacker Matt Bauman; Minnesota receiver Eric Decker; Fresno State safety Moses Harris; Western Michigan quarterback Tim Hiller; Brown defensive tackle Paul Jasinowski; Morningside College receiver Beau Kildow; Northern Iowa linebacker Josh Mahoney; Tusculum tight end Jarrell NeSmith; Baylor linebacker Joe Pawelek; Kansas quarterback Todd Reesing; Hardin-Simmons receiver Zavious Robbins; Augustana College Blaine Westemeyer; and West Virginia linebacker Reed Williams.

The scholar-athlete award was called the Draddy Trophy until earlier this year, when it was renamed after William V. Campbell, the chairman of software company Intuit and a former player and coach at Columbia University.

The Draddy was first handed out in 1990. Last year's Draddy Trophy winner was California center Alex Mack, and previous winners include Peyton Manning and Chad Pennington.

The Campbell Trophy will be handed out in New York in December at the NFF's Hall of Fame induction banquet.

share story