Marcus Mariota wins Maxwell, Davey O'Brien; Melvin Gordon takes home Doak Walker

BY foxsports • December 11, 2014

Marcus Mariota had himself quite a Thursday night.

The Ducks' junior won the Maxwell and Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Awards during the College Football Awards Show at Disney in Lake Buena Vista, Florida.

Mariota also won the Walter Camp player of the year award on Thursday in a separate announcement.

Mariota was chosen over Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon and Mississippi State quarterback Dak Prescott for the Maxwell, reserved for college football's top player.

Mariota was selected over finalists Trevone Boykin of TCU and Prescott for the Davey O'Brien, becoming the first Oregon player to win it and second Pac-12 player in the past four seasons, joining 2011 winner Andrew Luck of Stanford.

Taking home the Davey O'Brien award is good sign for Mariota, a Heisman Trophy finalist: The past four winners have gone on to win the Heisman.

Mariota is also the first Duck to win the Walter Camp. The other finalists were Boykin, Gordon, Alabama receiver Amari Cooper and Arizona linebacker Scooby Wright III.

Mariota leads the nation in passing efficiency (186.3) and has accounted for a Pac-12 record 53 touchdowns, including 38 touchdown passes. He led the Ducks to the first College Football Playoff, where they will be the second seed and play Florida State on Jan. 1.

On Saturday night, Mariota hopes to become the first player to win the Maxwell Award and the Heisman Trophy in the same season since Auburn quarterback Cam Newton in 2010.


Alabama's Amari Cooper won the Biletnikoff Award as the nation's outstanding receiver, becoming the first Alabama player to win the award. He joined LSU's Josh Reed in 2001 as the only SEC players to win it.

Cooper was selected over finalists Rashard Higgins of Colorado State and West Virginia's Kevin White.

Wisconsin's Melvin Gordon won the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation's top running back.

The junior is the third Badgers player to win the award, joining 1999 winner Ron Dayne and 2012 winner Montee Ball. Gordon is the seventh player from the Big Ten Conference to claim the honor.

Gordon ran for 2,336 yards and 26 touchdowns this year. Entering the Outback Bowl against Auburn on Jan. 1, he is 292 yards shy of Barry Sanders' NCAA single-season rushing record.

Iowa's Brandon Scherff won the Outland Trophy, given to the nation's outstanding interior lineman.

Scherff was the Big Ten Offensive Lineman of the Year in 2014. He was also selected first-team All-Big Ten for the second consecutive year, becoming the first Hawkeyes player to do that since Shaun Prater.

Louisville's Gerod Holliman won the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation's top defensive back.

He's the first Atlantic Coast Conference player to win the award. He is also the first player not from the Southeastern Conference or Big Ten to win the award since Antoine Cason in 2007.

Holliman had a Football Bowl Subdivison-best 14 interceptions this season, trying the NCAA record. He also had 37 tackles as part of a Cardinals' defense that ranked sixth in the FBS total defense. He was selected over finalists Landon Collins of Alabama and Oregon's Iko Ekpre-Olomu.

Utah's Tom Hackett won the Ray Guy Award, given to the nation's top punter.

The Australian-born punter is the first Utah player and the first from the Pac-12 to win the award.

Hackett placed 35 of his 77 punts this season inside the 20-yard line, and six punts inside the 5. He ranked second in the nation with 3,619 total yards on punts.

Maryland's Brad Craddock won the Lou Groza Award as the nation's top kicker.

He's the first Maryland player to win the award.

Craddock made a school-record 57-yarder against Ohio State, and 18 of his 19 field goals overall this season.

Arizona linebacker Scooby Wright won the Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the nation's defensive player of the year.

He joins USC linebacker Rey Maualuga in 2008 as the only Pac-12 players to win the award. Wright also won the Lombardi Award on Wednesday night as the nation's best lineman, and the Bronko Nagurski Award on Monday night as the top defensive player in college football. In addition, he was the Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year.

Wright was selected over Bednarik finalists Vic Beasley of Clemson and Joey Bosa of Ohio State.

TCU coach Gary Patterson was given the Home Depot coach of the year award.

Patterson led the No. 6 Horned Frogs to a 11-1 record, earning them a spot in the Peach Bowl vs. No. 9 Ole Miss on Dec. 31.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.