A list of new college football programs

August 20, 2010

List of schools that have started or plan to start new football programs during the five-year period beginning in 2009, according to the National Football Foundation:


Old Dominion (Norfolk, Va.): NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision, Colonial Athletic Association.

University of the Incarnate Word (San Antonio, Texas): NCAA Division II.


University of New Haven (West Haven, Conn.): NCAA Division II.

Anna Maria College (Paxton, Mass.): NCAA Division III.

Castleton State College (Castleton, Vt.): NCAA Division III.


South Alabama (Mobile, Ala.): NCAA Division I FCS independent; football-playing member of Sun Belt Conference in Football Bowl Subdivision by 2013.

Georgia State (Atlanta): NCAA Division I FCS independent; full transition to Colonial Athletic Association in 2012.

Lamar (Beaumont, Texas): NCAA Division I FCS Southland Conference.

Pacific University (Forest Grove, Ore.): NCAA Division III.

Lindsey Wilson College (Columbia, Ky.): NAIA.

Notre Dame College (South Euclid, Ohio): NAIA; beginning transition to NCAA Division II.


Texas-San Antonio: NCAA Division I FCS independent; hopes to FBS conference in 2013.

LeMoyne-Owen College (Memphis, Tenn.): NCAA Division II.

Presentation College (Aberdeen, S.D.): NCAA Division III.

Stevenson University (Owings Mills, Md.): NCAA Division III, developmental team in 2010.

Ave Maria University (Ave Maria, Fla.): NAIA.

Concordia University (Ann Arbor, Mich.): NAIA.

Siena Heights University (Adrian, Mich): NAIA.


Finlandia University (Hancock, Mich.): NCAA Division III

Wayland Baptist University (Plainview, Texas): NAIA


North Carolina-Charlotte: NCAA Division I FCS, conference to be determined

George Fox University (Newberg, Ore.): NCAA Division III