Safety Johnson among Cowboys’ first roster cuts

IRVING, Texas — The Cowboys made their first preseason cuts Tuesday to get down to the mandatory limit of 75 players. Among those waived were safety Matt Johnson, a fourth-round pick in 2012 who never played in a game because of a series of injuries.

The Cowboys will have cut down to the regular-season limit of 53 players on Saturday.


WR Chris Boyd (Vanderbilt)

P Tom Hornsey (Memphis)

LS Casey Kreiter (Iowa)

DE Adewale Ojomo (Miami)

G Wayne Tribue (Temple)


QB Caleb Hanie (Colorado State)


TE Jordan Najvar (Baylor)

S Matt Johnson (Eastern Washington)

CB Justin Green (Illinois)

LB DeVonte Holloman (South Carolina)

CB Johnny Thomas (Oklahoma State)


DE Ben Gardner (Stanford)


DT Amobi Okoye (Louisville)

Follow Keith Whitmire on Twitter: @Keith_Whitmire