Four things not known about Saints’ Payton

New Orleans Saints head coach Sean Payton.

Derick E. Hingle/Derick E. Hingle-USA TODAY Sport

For many in New Orleans, the nightmare of Hurricane Katrina and her devastating aftermath is still fresh, almost like it was yesterday. In reality, it was 9 years ago, in 2005. In 2006, Sean Payton, Drew Brees and company arrived in a city that still didn’t have street signs in many spots and was just starting to teeter to its feet.

Now, in 2014, New Orleans is back better than ever, and Payton is one of the NFL’s longest tenured coaches, behind Bill Belichick, Marvin Lewis and Tom Coughlin.

Longest Tenured NFL Head Coaches

                          First Season
Bill Belichick, NE         2000
Marvin Lewis, Cin        2003
Tom Coughlin, NYG     2004
Sean Payton, NO         2006
Mike McCarthy, GB       2006

Payton is also one of the winningest coaches in modern NFL history.

Highest Career Win Percentage Among Coaches to Debut Since 1970
(minimum 50 games)

Tony Dungy, TB-Ind        139-69  .668
Bill Belichick, Cle-NE        199-105 .655
Sean Payton, NO            73-39  .652

This season, Payton is poised to add another historical footnote to his biography. If we eliminate the 2012 season when he was suspended because of Bounty Gate, Payton has led the Saints to four straight 11-win seasons. Only three coaches in NFL history have led their team to five or more consecutive 11-win seasons.

Coaches With The Most Consecutive 11+ Win Seasons – All-Time

Tony Dungy, Ind         6 (2003-2008)
Tom Landry, Dal         6 (1976-1981)
Andy Reid, Phi           5 (2000-2004)
Sean Payton, NO        4 (2009-2013) ^ACTIVE
Bill Belichick, NE        4 (2010-2013) ^ACTIVE
Mike Holmgren, GB     4 (1995-1998)
Marv Levy, Buf           4 (1990-1993)
Mike Ditka, Chi          4 (1985-1988)
John Madden, Oak      4 (1974-1977)

Under Payton’s leadership, the Saints have averaged more points per game than any other coach-team combination in NFL history.

Coach-Team Combos, Most Points per Game – All-Time
(minimum 50 games)

Sean Payton, NO         27.8 (3110 points in 112 games)
George Seifert, SF       27.0 [26.97]
Dick Vermeil, KC         27.0 [26.96]
Bill Belichick, NE         26.9 [26.94]
Tony Dungy, Ind         26.9 [26.88]