Big 12 hands out basketball awards

Iowa State Cyclone forward Melvin Ejim

Steven Branscombe/Steven Branscombe-USA TODAY Spor

Iowa State forward Melvin Ejim was named the Big 12’s Player of the Year on Sunday, the Big 12 announced. 

Ejim was second in the Big 12 in scoring (18.2 ppg) and rebounds (8.6 rpg) and headlined the league’s award winners. 

The league’s coaches vote on the awards and are not allowed to vote for their own players. 

Here’s the full list of the Big 12’s award winners: 


Player of the Year: Melvin Ejim, F, Iowa State

Defensive Player of the Year: Joel Embiid, C, Kansas

Newcomer of the Year: DeAndre Kane, G, Iowa State

Freshman of the Year: Andrew Wiggins, G, Kansas

Sixth Man Award: Tyler Neal, F, Oklahoma and Phil Forte, G, Oklahoma State

Coach of the Year: Rick Barnes, Texas


All-Big 12 First Team

Melvin Ejim, Iowa State (unanimous selection)

DeAndre Kane, Iowa State

Andrew Wiggins, Kansas (unanimous selection)

Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State

Juwan Staten, West Virginia


All-Big 12 Second Team

Joel Embiid, Kansas

Marcus Foster, Kansas State

Buddy Hield, Oklahoma

Markel Brown, Oklahoma State

Jonathan Holmes, Texas


All-Big 12 Third Team

Cory Jefferson, Baylor

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Perry Ellis, Kansas

Cameron Clark, Oklahoma

Jaye Crockett, Texas Tech


Big 12 All-Defensive Team

Isaiah Austin, Baylor

Joel Embiid, Kansas (unanimous selection)

Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State (unanimous selection)

Demarcus Holland, Texas

Cameron Ridley, Texas

Juwan Staten, West Virginia


Big 12 All-Newcomer Team

DeAndre Kane, Iowa State

Joel Embiid, Kansas (unanimous selection)

Andrew Wiggins, Kansas (unanimous selection)

Marcus Foster, Kansas State

Isaiah Taylor, Texas