Baylor QB Petty headlines All-Big 12 preseason awards

Baylor’s Bryce Petty headlined the All-Big 12 team and preseason awards released on Wednesday.

Petty won preseason Offensive Player of the Year after capturing the postseason honors at the end of the 2013 season.

TCU defensive end Devonte Fields earned Defensive Player of the Year honors, despite a suspension and injury keeping him off the field for all but two games in 2013. He was named Defensive Player of the Year his true freshman season in 2012.

Oklahoma State’s speedy juco transfer Tyreek Hill was named the league’s preseason Newcomer of the Year.

Here’s the rest of the All-Big 12 preseason team:


WR: Tyler Lockett, Kansas State
TE: E.J. Bibbs, Iowa State
OL: Le’Raven Clark, Texas Tech
OL: Spencer Drango, Baylor
C: B.J. Finney, Kansas State
OL: Daryl Williams, Oklahoma
OL: Cody Whitehair, Kansas State
WR: Antwan Goodley, Baylor
QB: Bryce Petty, Baylor
RB: Malcolm Brown, Texas
RB: Shock Linwood, Baylor
PK: Michael Hunnicutt, Oklahoma
KR: Tyler Lockett, Kansas State


DL: Chucky Hunter, TCU
DL: Ryan Mueller, Kansas State
DL: Cedric Reed, Texas
DL: Devonte Fields, TCU
LB: Ben Heeney, Kansas
LB: Eric Striker, Oklahoma
LB: Bryce Hager, Baylor
DB: Sam Carter, TCU
DB: Karl Joseph, West Virginia
DB: Quandre Diggs, Texas
DB: Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma
P: Spencer Roth, Baylor
PR: Levi Norwood, Baylor