Fantasy Fox: ‘PPR Spectacular’ for the 2014 fantasy season

Obviously, you’ll need quarterbacks, running backs, defenses/special teams to complement receivers and tight ends on PPR-based rosters.

But no matter the round, you should always be pondering the next receiver move, or at least factoring in how every draft pick adds value to the PPR format.

As such, here are some internal questions to pose when chasing certain PPR assets:

a) Do my running backs have the minimum capacity for five or more catches per game?

b) Do I want to start a wide receiver in the ‘flex’ position every time?

c) Are my QBs likely to attempt 40 or more passes in at least six games? (This is extremely relevant with West Coast offenses.)

In standard-scoring leagues, versatile guys like Andre Johnson, Mike Wallace, Wes Welker, Reggie Wayne, T.Y. Hilton, Julian Edelman, Cecil Shorts, Emmanuel Sanders, Darren Sproles and Danny Woodhead might get passed over for red-zone magnets, at least in the early rounds.

But to effectively win a PPR championship, you’ll need a handful of the above names carrying the freight.

Quarterbacks have the same value in standard-scoring and Points Per Reception leagues; but for various reasons, they are routinely drafted lower in PPRs, as owners devote their first seven or eight picks to pass-friendly receivers, tailbacks and tight ends.

As Exhibit A, I landed Aaron Rodgers in Round 3 (27th overall) of a 12-team, 20-round experts’ PPR draft last year. At the time, a healthy Rodgers had amassed 8,938 passing yards and 89 total touchdowns for 2011-12 — with only 14 interceptions in that two-year span.

The rule of thumb: The typical quarterback in a PPR draft — with the exceptions of Peyton Manning or Drew Brees — tumbles about 8-11 spots from their prescribed ADP slot in standard-scoring leagues.

Here’s another way of arbitrarily quantifying PPR assets. These 34 wideouts crossed the PPR-elite threshold of seven catches, 95 yards and/or one touchdown at least seven times last year.

Jay Clemons, the 2008 Fantasy Football Writer of the Year (Fantasy Sports Writers Assoication), can be reached via Twitter, day or night, at @FOX_JayClemons.