Johnson, Kuechly meet in ACC Greatest Player Tourney final

Calvin Johnson (left) is a former All-American and ACC Player of the Year, while Luke Kuechly led the nation in tackles two straight years.

The search for the greatest player in ACC history is down to two.

Calvin Johnson knocked off top-seeded Lawrence Taylor to join Luke Kuechly in the championship of the ACC Gridiron LIVE Greatest Player Tournament.

Johnson dominated his final four matchup with Taylor, a North Carolina product, claiming 86.2 percent of the vote.


It sets up an intriguing matchup of recent ACC stars between the third-seeded Boston College linebacker and the fifth-seeded wide receiver out of Georgia Tech.

Kuechly led the nation in tackles in two straight seasons (2010 and ’11) and finished second in ’09. A two-time consensus All-American, he claimed first-team All-ACC honors three times, won the Butkus, Lombardi, Bronko Nagurski and Jack Lambert awards.

In three years with the Yellow Jackets, Johnson caught 178 balls for 2,927 yards and 28 TDs. He won two league receiving-yardage titles and once led the ACC in TD receptions. As a junior he was an All-American, the ACC Player of the Year and won the Biletnikoff Award.

Voting for the championship round is open through Monday, Nov. 17 at 6 p.m. ET. Be sure to watch ACC Gridiron LIVE on Wednesday, Nov. 19 at 10 p.m. ET (click here for local listings) for the announcement of the winner.

The FOX Sports regional networks serving the Southeast, FOX Sports South, FOX Sports Tennessee, FOX Sports Carolinas and SportSouth, collectively reach more than 13 million cable and satellite households in seven states across the Southeast. They are the television home of the Atlanta Braves, Atlanta Dream, Atlanta Hawks, Carolina Hurricanes, Charlotte Hornets, Charlotte Hounds, Memphis Grizzlies, Nashville Predators, Cincinnati Reds, Indiana Pacers, New Orleans Pelicans, and St. Louis Cardinals, as well as the Atlantic Coast Conference, Conference USA, Southeastern Conference, and Big 12 Conference. Combined, the four networks produce more than 750 live local events and televise more than 1400 live local events each year.