Spain defeats Venezuela 3-0 in friendly

David Villa, Xabi Alonso and Pedro Rodriguez scored for World

Cup and European champion Spain in a 3-0 win over Venezuela in an

international friendly on Tuesday.

Villa scored after only five minutes from a free kick. Pedro

Rodriguez scored in the 20th minute and Alonso added another in

first-half stoppage time.

It was the third match between the two countries, and Spain’s

third victory to go with wins in 1981 and 2004.

And it was the second victory in three days for Spain following

a 4-0 win over the United States on Saturday.

”The most important thing is that we leave the Americas with

two victories and without any scares, and we go back with everyone

healthy,” Spain coach Vicente Del Bosque said.

Venezuela was using the match as preparation for the Copa

America, which starts July 1 in Argentina. Venezuela, the only

member of the South American confederation to never reach the World

Cup final, faces Brazil, Paraguay and Ecuador in the group stage of

the Copa America.

Del Bosque commended Venezuela for not folding in front of a

40,000 sellout crowd at Jose Antonio Anzoategui stadium, which was

built for the 2007 Copa America.

”Venezuela showed a lot of seasoning to keep going … looking

to rally,” Del Bosque said. ”You have to mention this because it

took some audacity.”

Venezuela coach Cesar Farias described the match as a learning


”Playing with the world champion has its risks, and its

lessons,” he said. ”Our goalkeeper didn’t have that much to do.

Valdes (Spanish keeper Victor) made some demanding saves – in spite

of the score. This speaks well of the Venezuelan game.”


VENEZUELA: Danny Hernandez, Gabriel Cichero, Roberto Rosales

(Alexander Gonzalez, 90), Grenddy Perozo, Franklin Lucena, Tomas

Rincon, Luis Seijas (Giacomo Di Giorgi, 46), Yohandry Orozco (Juan

Arango, 46), Cesar Gonzalez, 65), Alejandro Moreno (Alejandro

Guerra, 71), Giancarlo Maldonado (Nicolas Fedor, 46).

SPAIN: Victor Valdes (Iker Casillas, 90), Carlos Marchena,

Alvaro Arbeloa (Joan Capdevila, 64), Raul Albiol, Andoni Iraola,

Xabi Alonso (David Silva, 46), Sergio Busquets, Andres Iniesta

(Santi Cazorla, 46), Pedro Rodriguez, Fernando Llorente (Fernando

Torres, 64), David Villa (Manu del Morral, 45).