Ukraine’s Blokhin calls up 2 uncapped goalkeepers

Ukraine coach Oleh Blokhin has called up two uncapped

goalkeepers for a training camp because of injuries ahead of the

start of the European Championship next month.

Oleksandr Bandura from Metalurh Donetsk and Maksym Koval from

Dynamo Kiev were included in the provisional 26-man squad announced

Tuesday on the Ukrainian football federation’s website.

They replace Oleksandr Shovkovskiy (shoulder surgery) and Andriy

Dykan (facial injury), who have both been ruled out of Euro


First-choice ‘keeper Oleksandr Rybka is serving a two-year

suspension for a doping offense and is likely to be replaced by

Andriy Pyatov from Shakhtar Donetsk.

Also missing was Shakhtar Donetsk defender Dmytro Chygrynskiy

after an injury-plagued season.

The federation said Blokhin would not comment on the squad until

a news conference scheduled for Monday.

Ukraine, which co-hosts the June 8-July 1 event with Poland,

will travel to Turkey for a training camp from May 15-24, before

heading to Germany and Austria for three friendly games against

Estonia, Austria and Turkey.

Ukraine’s first match at Euro 2012 is against Sweden on June 11

in Group D, which also includes France and England.

Top goal scorer and talisman Andriy Shevchenko was included in

the squad after recovering from injury. He is joined up front by

Dynamo Kiev teammate Artem Milevskiy and Dynamo Moscow veteran

Andriy Voronin.

Dynamo Kiev is represented by nine players, including young

winger Andriy Yarmolenko. Champion Shakhtar Donetsk has six players

in the squad.

Defensive midfielder Anatoliy Tymoshchuk, Ukraine’s most

experienced player with 114 caps, will join the team after his

Bayern Munich faces Chelsea in the Champions League final on May



Goalkeepers: Oleksandr Bandura (Metalurh Donetsk), Oleksandr

Goryainov (Metalist Kharkiv), Maxym Koval (Dynamo Kiev), Andriy

Pyatov (Shakhtar Donetsk).

Defenders: Bohdan Butko (Illychivets Mariupil), Olexandr Kucher

(Shakhtar Donetsk), Vitaly Mandziuk (Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk), Taras

Mikhalik (Dynamo Kiev), Yaroslav Rakitskiy (Shakhtar Donetsk),

Yevhen Selin (Vorskla Poltava), Yevhen Khacheridi (Dynamo Kiev),

Vyacheslav Shevchuk (Shakhtar Donetsk).

Midfielders: Olexandr Aliyev (Dynamo Kiev), Denys Garmash

(Dynamo Kiev), Oleh Gusev (Dynamo Kiev), Yevhen Konoplyanka (Dnipro

Dnipropetrovsk), Serhiy Nazarenko (Tavriya Simferopol), Ruslan

Rotan (Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk), Taras Stepanenko (Dynamo Kiev),

Anatoliy Tymoshchuk (Bayern Munich), Andriy Yarmolenko (Dynamo


Forwards: Andriy Voronin (Dinamo Moscow), Marko Devic (Metalist

Kharkiv), Artem Milevskiy (Dynamo Kiev), Yevhen Seleznyov (Shakhtar

Donetsk), Andriy Shevchenko (Dynamo Kiev).