Star duo named in Under-21 squad

Head coach Stuart Pearce kept his word to select Arsenal midfielder

Wilshere and Liverpool striker Carroll – both of whom have begun to

establish themselves in the senior side – in his initial 40-man

party for the finals in Denmark this summer. Pearce ignored

opposition from Gunners boss Arsene Wenger, who is against

19-year-old Wilshere’s inclusion, while Liverpool manager Kenny

Dalglish’s position on Carroll’s selection is unclear. The duo’s

selection is a boost to England’s chances of winning the tournament

having reached the semi-final in 2007 and final two years later.

They are among six players in the squad to have been capped at

senior level, with Danny Welbeck, Jordan Henderson, Micah Richards

and Kieran Gibbs. Chris Smalling and Kyle Walker have also trained

with Fabio Capello’s squad. The 40-man party announced on Tuesday

will be reduced to 23 by June 1, four days before England play

their final pre-tournament friendly against Norway in Southampton.

Their Under-21 Championship campaign begins a week later against

Spain in Herning, where they will also face Ukraine three days

after that before taking on Czech Republic in Viborg on June 19.

The top two in the group will progress to the semi-finals, with the

final taking place on June 25. Provisional squad: Fielding

(Blackburn), Loach (Watford), Steele (Middlesbrough), McCarthy

(Reading), Bennett (Middlesbrough), Bertrand (Chelsea), Gibbs

(Arsenal), Jones (Blackburn), Mancienne (Chelsea), Mee (Manchester

City), Naughton (Tottenham), Richards (Manchester City), Smalling

(Manchester United), Tomkins (West Ham), Trippier (Manchester

City), Walker (Tottenham), Albrighton (Aston Villa), Cork

(Chelsea), Cleverley (Manchester United), Davies (Bolton), Hammill

(Wolves), Henderson (Sunderland), Howson (Leeds), Lallana

(Southampton), Lansbury (Arsenal), McEachran (Chelsea), Muamba

(Bolton), Rodwell (Everton), Rose (Tottenham), Sinclair (Swansea),

Wilshere (Arsenal), Carroll (Liverpool), Delfouneso (Aston Villa),

Hooper (Celtic), Rodriguez (Burnley), Sears (West Ham), Sturridge

(Chelsea), Vaughan (Everton), Welbeck (Manchester United), Wickham